machine head catharsis

HARD NOISE: MACHINE HEAD // Go Primetime Announcing New LP ‘Catharsis’

San Fran Bay Area metal champs Machine Head have revealed details about their anticipated new album Catharsis, set for a 26th January release on Nuclear Blast. They’ve released new track Beyond the Pale, which you can hear below:

Catharsis was produced by vocalist and guitarist Robb Flynn and recorded, mixed, and co-produced by Zack Ohren (Fallujah, All Shall Perish) at Sharkbite Studios in Oakland, CA.  Ted Jensen (Hatebreed, Alice In Chains, Deftones) mastered the album at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.

“I feel like metal could really infiltrate the mainstream with this album. And it needs to… now more than ever,” says Flynn in a statement. A lot of consideration went into making these songs more identifiable to a wider audience. Simplifying ideas, simplifying hooks, really concentrating on story-telling as opposed to ‘brutal poetry’ or whatever. And while I’d love to say it was all some grand plan, there was no ‘plan’” Flynn laughs. “You never know where you’re going to end up whenever you start writing a record… you just write… but I tell ya what… we ended up with a landmark here. Whenever you finish an album, you always feel proud, but this time… we’ve got something really special. We can feel it. We know it. Catharsis could really elevate our genre,” he says, all modesty.

The band completed their their touring cycle for their first Nuclear Blast album Bloodstone & Diamonds in March 2016 with a whopping 283 concerts on five different continents. 250 were billed as “An Evening with…” with no supports.

Bloodstone & Diamonds debuted at #21 on the U.S. Billboard charts, selling 285,000 copies worldwide.

This is the first new material since June 2016’s standalone track Is There Anybody Out There?

Pre-orders are available here.


machine head catharsis

Machine Head – Catharsis tracklist:
1. Volatile
2. Catharsis
3. Beyond The Pale
4. California Bleeding
5. Triple Beam
6. Kaleidoscope
7. Bastards
8. Hope Begets Hope
9. Screaming At The Sun
10. Behind A Mask
11. Heavy Lies The Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy

Latest News